Dead of Winter (The Arcana Chronicles, #3) by Kresley Cole

Can Evie convince her rival loves to work together? Their survival depends on it in this third book of #1 New York Times bestselling author Kresley Cole’s Arcana Chronicles, a nonstop action tale of rescue, redemption, and a revenge most wicked.

Heartbreaking decisions

Evie was almost seduced by the life of comfort that Death offered her—until Jack was threatened by two of the most horrific Arcana, The Lovers. She will do anything to save him, even escape Death’s uncanny prison, full of beautiful objects, material comforts…and stolen glances from a former love.

Uncertain victory

Despite leaving a part of her heart behind with Death, Evie sets out into a frozen and perilous post-apocalyptic wasteland to meet up with her allies and launch an attack on The Lovers and the vast army they command. Such formidable enemies require a battle plan, and the only way to kill them once and for all may mean Evie, Jack, and Death allying. Evie doesn’t know what will prove more impossible: surviving slavers, plague, Bagmen and other Arcana—or convincing Jack and Death to work together.

Two heroes returned

There’s a thin line between love and hate, and Evie just doesn’t know where she stands with either Jack or Death. Will this unlikely trio be able to defeat The Lovers without killing one another first?


Get DEAD OF WINTER (Hardcover)
Get DEAD OF WINTER (Audio Book)

We started back toward Selena and Finn’s tent. Halfway there, she murmured, “I can’t believe he’s going against Joules! I would’ve bet my bow he’d refuse. My God, we might free J.D. tonight. Evie, if this works . . .” Though Selena was 100 percent, grade-A badass, her eyes glinted, a hairline fracture in her prickly façade. “If we get him back, you and I’ll be solid again.” “Were we ever solid?” I was so different from her, and we’d hated each other at first. But we’d muddled along until we’d begun to rely on one another. And now she was lowering her guard a degree. As soon as the thought occurred to me, her expression hardened. “In every game, the Archer has an arrow for the Empress.” I exhaled. “Yeah, yeah, I remember.” “In this game, I might have misplaced it.” Shoulders squared, she turned from me. As she strode away, I realized two things: That’s the closest she’ll ever come to telling me we’re friends.

I’ll take it.

Just when I thought that this series couldn’t get any more amazing, Kresley Cole lays it on thicker! When I finished off Poison Princess back in 2012, I thought this series was freaking divine. I was sold from then on out. Once I’d completed book 2, Endless Knight (in 2013), I knew I was in it for life. The Arcana Chronicles is the one series that I’ve continued to stalk almost monthly, awaiting the next release. And I’ve been doing this for going on 4 years! Other books have interested me, but once the timeframe for the next release takes to long, I get tired of waiting. I may read the next installment, but I usually have lost interest by then… or can’t even remember what was happening prior to the new release. But this series right here is the only one I’ve continued to successfully read over the last 4 years. It’s been going on a while… and every single time I fall more and more in love with each character. I’ll admit that if I could read this entire series in one go, right after each other, I may go insane. It’s tiring… that’s for sure. I’m torn all the damn time between Jack or Aric… The Arana Chronicles is filled with loads of exciting and captivating moments… Both previous books were totally amazing. They will blow your mind. And then… even though I didn’t believe for one second that it could even possibly get any better than before… DEAD OF WINTER comes out and I’m transported right back to Evie, Jack, Selena & Aric… It’s like we never parted – i’m back to not knowing who’s side I’m one – I want everyone to be happy, get some rest and yet I know deep down who I’m secretly rooting for. Kresley Cole has this uncanny ability to just keep on going wherever the previous book left off. There’s little backtracking in the followups. If you haven’t read this series from book #1, forget about even considering picking any of the next two up. You’ll be absolutely lost. You need to start at Poison Princess. You wont know if your coming or going if you don’t follow the reading order. But be assured… you will love what you get right from the very start. Poison Princess was about the start of it all. The Flash. The fight for survival. The introductions and the beginning of the entire plot this series follows. In book #1 (Poison Princess) we get accustomed to Evie and Jack. A team. A unit working together to figure it all out. But then Endless Knight comes along and then at first, it’s hard to wrap your head around the arrival of Death (Aric). You want to love him, but you don’t know if you can trust him. It’s been Jack and Evie from the start… Aric is just an seemingly unwanted spanner in the works. Or is he? That’s for you to determine all on your own. Then… along comes Dead of Winter and suddenly you don’t know anymore. Are you team Aric or Team Jack? Should Evie just grow up and cut both loose? I’ll tell you that at one point I was so irritated with her indecisiveness. But I could understand the pull she felt between both Aric and Jack. I felt it too. But Dead of Winter isn’t all about a love triangle. That’s just a minor aspect of what to expect in this book. The main aspect is that we get to know more players. There are new ones, more dangerous ones that you ever thought possible. Crazy ones who you will instantly hate and wish pain upon. There is a whole ton of gore and guts and gruesome moments that will leave you shuddering and probably ‘ew-ing’ at. But it was fabulous! Every single word was brilliant and so hypnotizing. I actually envy anyone who hasn’t read this yet… I want that experience all over again. I crave it! The ending of this installment is enough to make you throw your reader against the wall. I could feel the book was winding down to an epic cliff hanger. I’m not sure I could wait another year before I know what’s going to happen to both Jack, Evie and of course Aric… I’m wondering about Selena… Matthew and of course the last minute addition to the Major Players… The Emperor… I’m wondering who it is… is it a new character? Is it Jack? If it’s not then for sure Jack’s a goner. If it is, I’ll freak the heck out and… I don’t even know – it’s driving me up the wall! I have so much pent up emotions right now and (This always happens when I finish one of the books in this series) I’m struggling to express my opinion without giving to much away and without going into hysterics about what I just experienced… The bottom line – Is that this series (& This book) rocked my world… again! This series is firmly set as my all time #1 ever! I freaking love and adore it so much… I’m off to start Poison Princess again 🙂 If you love paranormal / fantasy / dystopian romance books… this is the perfect series for you! Young or old. Although when I say young I mean mature young adults please… it does contain a few phrases and scenes that isn’t entirely suitable for very young readers. But go for it. Kresley Cole will Rock your World!

Rating: 5 Stars! & A 2015 Favorite!

Share This Post With Your Friends On